Navigation


Home > Technologie compatible iDirect

iDirect-enabled Services

Comment acheter | Support Technique | Share

Page 1: Technologie compatible iDirect: Introduction
Page 2: TCP par satellite et fiabilité
Page 3: Affaissement pluie et questions sur la performance
Page 4: Services

 

Accès Internet Satellite iDirect

L'industrie des communications satellite est mature et stable. Pendant des décennies, les satellites ont été utilisés pour transporter les signaux voix et vidéo analogiques dans le monde entier, fournissant une excellente qualité et fiabilité. La fiabilité est le facteur clé ici. Une fois que les satellites actuels ont été lancés avec succès, leur fiabilité est devenue proche des 100%. Les échecs ont presque toujours eu lieu pendant le décollage ou avant le déploiement des services. En plus des signaux voix et vidéo, les satellites ont été utilisés avec succès pour transférer des données pendant de nombreuses années. Tout le monde a déjà vu les réflecteurs d’antenne sur le dessus de stations d'essence qui sont utilisés pour des transactions à faible vitesse telles que les autorisations relatives aux cartes de crédit. Avec l'avènement de l'Internet, les sociétés de technologie satellitaire ont ajouté le support IP large bande ce qui a rendu possible la participation au ‘World Wide Web’, même pour les endroits les plus reculés.

La plupart des solutions satellite haut débit existantes ont été conçues par ferroutage IP via la technologie de DVB par satellite, conçue pour la télévision et la vidéo. Ces solutions sont inefficaces, lentes, et offrent généralement des performances de liaison montante qui sont pauvres et qui manquent de compatibilité pour des applications telles que la VoIP. Les nouvelles technologies iDirect, développées via IP par satellite, ont eu pour effet de mettre à niveau les performances d'une manière similaire à la mise à niveau à partir d'un concentrateur Ethernet partagé sur un commutateur. La solution résultante offre une qualité et une fiabilité de classe entreprise.

 

Solutions satellite plus anciennes

L'industrie des satellites à large bande connaît une évolution similaire à celle vécue par les services filaires dans le début des années 90. A cette époque, la plupart des entreprises qui souhaitaient mettre en réseau leurs sites distants à des vitesses qui dépassaient les vitesses de l’accès commuté ont du installer des lignes louées point à point, en utilisant soit des circuits DDS ou des lignes très coûteuses T-1. Avec l'introduction de technologies de ressources partagée telles que Frame Relay, SMDS, et ATM, il est devenu possible de partager les coûts d'infrastructure et de partager la bande passante entre plusieurs emplacements. En particulier, la popularité de Frame Relay a permis pour la première fois aux entreprises de mettre en réseau leurs sites distants avec des connexions à haut débit pour des prix abordables. Cette capacité a permis aux développeurs d'applications logicielles de délivrer des applications adaptées aux entreprises qui pourraient être déployées à travers toute l'organisation, améliorant les communications et la productivité, et éliminant les fonctions administratives dupliquées dans chaque succursale. Bien sûr, avec l'avènement de l'Internet et des services haut débit, les applications ont vu leurs exigences de fonctionnalité et de bande passante augmentées. Maintenant, on pourrait débattre sur le fait que le soutien du déploiement de nouvelles applications compatibles avec Internet est au point mort en raison de l'absence de service à large bande abordable pour tous les sites distants, indépendamment de leur emplacement.

Dans l'industrie des satellites, les services de données étaient initialement délivrés via des circuits point à point dédies connus sous le nom de Single Channel Per Carrier (SCPC), qui sont très semblables aux lignes louées point-à-point. Parce que les ressources de bande passante et de communication ne sont pas partagées, c'est coûteux. Comme pour les avancées technologiques qui ont eu lieu dans l'industrie des services filaires dans le début des années 90, des solutions de ressources partagées sont désormais disponibles dans l'industrie des satellites, entraînant une baisse des coûts pour le raccordement des sites distants à Internet et/ou aux sièges des entreprises.

Bon nombre des solutions satellite partagées à large bande qui sont disponibles aujourd'hui sont basées sur la technologie appelée TDMA, et comme Frame Relay, ils profitent du fait que le trafic IP est très éclaté de nature. La plupart des applications nécessitent de courtes rafales d'informations demandant des données, suivie par le téléchargement de l'information demandée, puis une période d'inactivité le temps que ces informations soient examinées et traitées. Cela crée beaucoup de bande passante en veille ou gaspillée sur un circuit dédié SCPC. Comme le trafic IP tend à être asymétrique, avec entre 4 à 8 fois plus de trafic de téléchargement que le trafic de chargement dans les applications typiques. La nature éclatée des IP rend possible le partage de bande passante entre plusieurs utilisateurs, de manière efficace en réduisant les coûts et en augmentant l'efficacité.

La plupart des services satellite haut-débit anciens ont été développés principalement par ferroutage IP au-dessus de la technologie existante utilisée par les satellites pour transmettre des voix et données analogiques appelé DVB. DVB est utilisé pour transporter des signaux de télévision depuis des sociétés comme DirecTV et Dish Network. Pour transporter des paquets d’IP, ces solutions encapsulent tout simplement le trafic IP dans des trames vidéo MPEG qui sont transportés par DVB comme si c’était des données voix/vidéo. La bonne nouvelle est que le DVB/MPEG est une technologie mature et les chip-sets fournissant ce service sont relativement peu coûteux. Les mauvaises nouvelles, c'est que ce n'est pas une solution idéale pour le transport du trafic IP, car il y a beaucoup d'inefficacité et de surcharge inutile. Le téléchargement du trafic IP sur des sites distants est en fait la partie la plus facile. La liaison montante ou le chemin de retour est le plus difficile à concevoir pour une efficacité et des performances maximales, contrebalancée par les coûts.

Aujourd'hui, il y a un certain nombre de solutions satellitaires à large bande disponibles qui fournissent des services à large bande marginaux pour les clients, mais beaucoup présentent des lacunes ce qui a abouti à l'acceptation lente du haut débit par satellite comme une solution grand public pour les utilisateurs professionnels. Sur la page suivante, nous allons regarder de plus près certaines de ces questions cruciales et discuter de la façon dont la nouvelle technologie iDirect les a résolus.

 

Page 1: Technologie compatible iDirect: Introduction
Page 2: TCP par satellite et fiabilité
Page 3: Affaissement pluie et questions sur la performance
Page 4: Services

Reproduit avec la permission de Business Satellite Solutions, LLC | http://www.bsatellite.com/


Cliquez Pour Obtenir Votre Devis

ou appelez-nous au 1-866-556-3176


Disponibilité du Service:
Afrique, Europe, Moyen-Orient, Amériques, Asie


Informations Importantes

VSAT
VoiP - Vox sur IP
Plateforme iDirect

Contactez BusinessCom

1-866-556-3176
ou remplissez le
Formulaire de Requête en Ligne

Ressources

Téléchargement Logiciel
Support Technique
Supports Technique et Marketing

Navigation


Home > iDirect-enabled Services

iDirect-enabled Services

How To Buy | Technical Support | Share

Page 1: iDirect enabled technology: Introduction
Page 2: TCP over satellite and reliability
Page 3: Rain fade and performance issues
Page 4: Services

 

iDirect Satellite Internet access

The satellite communications industry is a mature and stable one. For decades, satellites have been used to transport analog voice and video signals around the globe, providing excellent quality and reliability. Reliability is the key factor here. Once the actual satellites are successfully launched and placed in operation their reliability approaches 100%. Failures have almost always occurred during launch or prior to deployment of services. In addition to voice and video signals, satellites have been successfully used to transport data for many years. Everyone has seen the dishes on top of gas stations and convenience stores that are used for low-speed transactions such as credit card approvals. With the advent of the Internet, satellite technology companies have added broadband IP support making it possible for even the most remote locations to participate in the World Wide Web.

Most legacy broadband satellite solutions have been built by piggybacking IP on top of DVB satellite technology, which was designed for television and video. These solutions are inefficient, sluggish, and generally provide poor uplink performance and are lacking in support for applications such as VoIP. New technology from iDirect, developed from the ground up to support IP over satellite, has had the effect of upgrading performance in a manner that is similar to the upgrade from a shared Ethernet hub to a switch. The resulting solution provides enterprise class quality and reliability.

 

Legacy satellite solutions

The broadband satellite industry is undergoing an evolution similar to that experienced by wireline services in the early 90's. At that time, most companies who wished to network their remote locations at speeds that exceeded dial up capability were required to install point-to-point leased lines, using either DDS circuits or very expensive T-1 lines. With the introduction of shared resource' technologies such as Frame Relay, SMDS, and ATM it became possible to share infrastructure costs and to share bandwidth between multiple locations. In particular, the popularity of Frame Relay made it possible for the first time, for companies to network their remote sites with relatively high-speed connections at affordable prices. This capability made it possible for software application developers to deliver company-wide applications that could be deployed across the entire organisation, improving communications and productivity, and eliminating duplicate administrative functions at each branch office. Of course, with the advent of the Internet and broadband services, applications grew in functionality and bandwidth requirements. Now it can be argued that roll-out of new Internet-enabled applications are stalled due to the lack of ubiquitous, affordable broadband service for all remote sites regardless of location.

In the satellite industry, data services were initially delivered over dedicated point-to-point circuits known as Single Channel Per Carrier (SCPC) that are very similar to point-to-point leased lines. Because bandwidth and communication resources are not shared, this is an expensive undertaking. Similar to the technological advances that took place in the wireline industry in the early 90's, shared resource' solutions are now becoming available in the satellite industry, driving down the costs for connecting remote sites to the Internet and/or to corporate headquarters.

Many of the shared broadband satellite solutions that are available today are based on technology called TDMA, and like Frame Relay, they take advantage of the fact that IP traffic is very bursty in nature. Most applications require short bursts of information requesting data, followed by the download of the requested information, then a period of inactivity as that information is reviewed and worked with. This creates a great deal of idle or wasted bandwidth on a dedicated SCPC circuit. As IP traffic tends to be asymmetric, with anywhere from 4 to 8 times as much download traffic as upload traffic in typical applications. The bursty nature of IP makes it possible to share bandwidth among multiple users, effectively reducing costs and increasing efficiency.

Most legacy broadband satellite services were developed primarily by piggybacking IP on top of the existing technology used by satellites for delivering analogue voice and data called DVB. DVB is used to transport television signals from companies such as DirecTV and Dish Network. To transport IP packets, these solutions simply encapsulate the IP traffic in MPEG video frames that are transported by DVB as though they are voice/video. The good news is that DVB/MPEG is a mature technology and the chip-sets to provide this service are relatively inexpensive. The bad news is that this is not an optimum solution for transporting IP traffic as there is a great deal of inefficiency and unnecessary overhead. The download of IP traffic to remote sites is actually the easy part. The uplink or return path is the most difficult to design for maximum efficiency and performance, balanced by cost.

Today there are any number of broadband satellite solutions available that provide marginal broadband service for customers, but many have deficiencies that have resulted in slow acceptance of broadband satellite as a mainstream solution for business users. On the next page we will take a closer look at some of these critical issues and discuss how the new iDirect technology has resolved them.

 

Page 1: iDirect enabled technology: Introduction
Page 2: TCP over satellite and reliability
Page 3: Rain fade and performance issues
Page 4: Services

Reprinted with permission by Business Satellite Solutions, LLC

Click To Get Your Quotation or call us 1-866-556-3176

Service Availability:
Africa, Europe, Middle East, Americas, Asia

Get More Info or Pricing
or call us 1-866-556-3176

iDirect iNFINITI® and Evolution® Services
Broadband Satellite Internet Access
Private Networks and VNO
Enterprise Satellite WAN Solutions
Typhoon Yolanda (Haiyan)
Disaster Recovery Solutions/Local Camp

 


Relevant Information

VSAT
VoiP - Voice over IP
iDirect services

Contact BusinessCom

1-866-556-3176
or fill in Online Request Form

Resources

Download Software
Technical Support
Technical and Marketing Collateral